Orientation

UMA Graduate School

August 27th 12:30 PM to 7:30 PM EST

International Program Office

Taking place from August 26th to August 28th, find more details here: https://www.umass.edu/ipo/iss/orientation-schedules

Electrical & Computer Engineering Department

August 31st 12:00 PM-1:00 PM EST

Academics

Fall 2021
First Day of classes Wednesday September 1
Holiday- Labor Day Monday September 6
Monday class schedule will be followed Wednesday September 8
Last day to add or drop any class with no record – Matriculated Undergraduate and Non-degree students Wednesday September 8
Last day to add or drop any class with no record – Matriculated Graduate students Wednesday September 15
Holiday – Columbus Day Monday October 11
Last day to Drop with ‘DR’ – Graduate (including UWW) Thursday October 28
Last day to Drop with ‘W’ and select ‘P/F’ – Undergraduate, Stockbridge, UWW Ugrad Thursday October 28
Registration begins for Spring 2022 Monday November 8
Holiday – Veterans’ Day Thursday November 11
Thursday class schedule will be followed Tuesday November 23
Thanksgiving recess begins following end of classes Tuesday November 23
Classes resume Monday November 29
Last day of classes Wednesday December 8
Reading Day Thursday December 9
Final examinations begin Friday December 10
Reading Day Saturday December 11
Last day of final examinations Thursday December 16
Snow day for exams, semester ends Friday December 17
Final grades due by midnight Wednesday December 22
Winter 2021/2022
First Day of classes Friday December 17
Last day to add or drop any class with no record Thursday December 23
Holiday – Christmas Saturday December 25
Holiday – New Years Day Saturday January 1
Last day to drop with “W” or “DR” and select ‘P/F’ Friday January 7
Holiday – Martin Luther King day Friday January 17
Last day of classes Friday January 24
Final grades due Monday January 30
Spring 2022
First Day of classes Friday January 25
Last day to add or drop any class with no record – Matriculated Undergraduate and Non-degree students Monday January 31
Last day to add or drop any class with no record – Matriculated Graduate students Monday February 7
Holiday – Presidents’ Day Monday February 21
Monday class schedule will be followed Tuesday February 22
Spring recess begins Sunday March 13
Classes resume Monday March 21
Last day to Drop with ‘DR’ – Graduate (including UWW) Tuesday March 29
Last day to Drop with ‘W’ and select ‘P/F’ – Undergraduate, Stockbridge, UWW Ugrad Tuesday March 29
Registration begins for Fall 2022 Monday April 11
Holiday – Patriot’s Day Monday April 18
Monday class schedule will be followed Wednesday April 20
Last day of classes Wednesday May 4
Reading Day Thursday May 5
Final examinations begin Friday May 6
Reading Day Saturday May 7
Last day of final examinations, semester ends Thursday May 12
Graduate and Undergraduate Commencements Friday May 13
Stockbridge Commencement Saturday May 14
Final grades due by Midnight Thursday May 19

Health & COVID-19

Immigration

Find more details here: https://www.umass.edu/ipo/iss/f-1-students. Please reach out directly to the International Program Office with any questions.

Fall 2021 FAQ

Please visit https://www.umass.edu/coronavirus/ for frequently asked questions and answers are being continuously updated.
COVID-19 Vaccinations: https://www.umass.edu/coronavirus/fall-2021-faqs#vaccinations
International Students: https://www.umass.edu/coronavirus/fall-2021-faqs#international
Please always check back often for the latest information.

Important Contact

Transportation Form

We are pleased to offer airport pickup for arriving students. Please fill out this form (https://shorelightcrm.tfaforms.net/218400) when you have booked your tickets. Please note that we can only arrange pick-up service for you if you fly into Boston Logan International Airport (BOS – Boston, MA) or Bradley International Airport (BDL – Hartford, CT)

Off-campus Living

For more information and helpful resources, visit the Off-Campus Housing Website (https://offcampushousing.umass.edu/).

These locations had some availability as of 6/30/2021: https://aspenamherst.com/ and https://www.north116flats.com/